Mason Park is one of Strathfield’s four significant parks and is a popular park providing a wide range of sporting and recreational facilities and opportunities. The Bay to Bay cycle way runs along the eastern side of Mason Park connecting shops, parks, schools and workplaces with peoples’ homes.
Mason Park is a former tidal mangrove swamp and garbage tip, and was named for Albert Mason, a former Mayor of Homebush Council, which amalgamated with Strathfield Council in 1947. Mason was also chief electrician of Arnott’s Biscuits Factory in George St, Homebush. He developed a unique approach in turning the swamp into useable land. Arnott’s Biscuits were originally sold in tins and empty tins from the shops were returned to the tin recycling department at the Homebush factory. Tins that could not be recycled were either crushed and buried in the company’s bowling green and car park in George Street, or with ash from the biscuit factory’s engine room and used to fill Mason Park. (Reference: Jones, C. Parks, Reserves & Memorials, 2004)
- Synthetic and grass fields
- Amenities building with change rooms, kiosk and public toilets
- Children’s playground