Disasters are becoming more frequent. It has never been more important to get prepared. Click through for more information on how you can better prepare your family for emergencies this Emergency Ready Week.

2022 Local Citizens of the Year

Citizen of the Year – Saroni Roy

Saroni has been a local resident of Strathfield and a passionate advocate of community-based projects.  She has been involved in so many various voluntarily roles from diversity and inclusion, positive peace, cultural change, gender equality, emotional intelligence, mental health, sustainability, social justice, environmental well-being and many more.  She’s an active member and currently volunteers with Strathfield Sports Club and Rotary Club of Strathfield.

Young Citizen of the Year – Bella Merlino

Bella is currently a student at Santa Sabina College. She has excelled in her roles as a student and her efforts and contributions for the local community and the greater community. She currently and actively supports and is a member for the Rotaract Strathfield, Young Leaders Strathfield and Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS). Bella also actively volunteers with Dementia Australia. Bella is an exceptional young lady who has contributed significantly to the municipality of Strathfield and beyond.

Honour Roll

YearLocal Citizen of the YearLocal Young Citizen of the YearLocal Environmental Citizen of the Year
2022Saroni RoyBella Merlino
2020Sandy ReddyRishabh Somani
2019Anthony D'AgrumaSunil JassalKeith Hughes (inaugural)
2018Helen BoyceLeon Rettie
2017Karen Pensabene & Nella HallYunus Isik
2016Ivana MorrisJafer Naim
2015Jane PistoleseSahil Bhandula
2014Dr. David TangMay Wong
2013Shirley GillettJaycee Bechara
2012Mohit TolaniMatthew Nicholl
2011Niall King OAMPrashanth Sellathurai
2010Ray WilsonTyson Parcell