Council is continuing to monitor the evolving situation with COVID-19. Please see our dedicated webpage for up-to-date information on Council services and advice.

Youth Achievement Awards Winners Announced

Last week Strathfield Council and Strathfield Rotary announced the winners of the 2016 Youth Achievement Awards. The winners were announced at a presentation evening on Wednesday 28 April at Strathfield Gold Club.

The Youth Achievement Awards recognises young people who live or attend school in the Strathfield local government area, recognised for their achievements and contributions to the community.

The winners of the awards, which included 14 individuals and one team, are a great example of the talent and dedication of the youth in the Strathfield area. The awards were presented by State Member for Strathfield, Jodi McKay MP, Strathfield Rotary President Allan Petersen and Mayor of Strathfield, Cr Sang Ok.

“Our young people are an asset to this community. They continue to achieve goals beyond their years and make us proud. I encourage each and every one of them to continue in their selected fields and am sure they will achieve great things,” said Cr Ok.

“Strathfield Council and Strathfield Rotary are honoured to be able to recognise the winners of these awards. Their parents, schools and the community as a whole should be proud of their achievements.”

Nominations were open to young people aged 12-25 years who live, study, work or train in Strathfield.


2016 Youth Achievement Award Winners

Environment Award

  • Monica Carollo, 17 – Plaque

Community Service Award


  • Kevin Kadamani, 16 – Plaque
  • Sunil Jassal, 14 – Plaque
  • Dasaradh Kodali, 15
  • Hashir Syed, 17
  • Declan McGrath, 15
  • Jiayang Wang, 14


Individual Sports Award


  • Lauren Donnellan, 17 – Plaque
  • Alexandra Georgopoulos, 17
  • Isabellah Faith Walker, 13


Team Sports Award

  • Meriden Water Polo Team
  • Mollie Williams, 17 (Captain) – Plaque

President’s Award


  • Jafar Naim, 16
  • Faraj Khan, 17
  • Bryce Zou, 11